Committees & Caucuses

CUPE Local 3913 has several working committees and caucuses. All members are welcome to join a committee or a caucus. For more information please contact committee and caucus chairs by emailing them directly. Email addresses for all members of the Executive Committee can be found on our Representatives and Staff page. Note: In order to join a caucus, you must identify as a member of the group that the caucus represents.

Bargaining Committee

  • Chair: Scott Duchesne, President
  • Mandate: To research, establish priorities, and strategize for the next round of bargaining with the Employer. Our current Collective Agreement is due to expire on August 31, 2016.

Bylaws Committee

  • Chair: Edith Wilson, President
  • Mandate: To review and make recommendations for regular revisions of the Bylaws.

Executive Committee

  • Chair: Edith Wilson, President
  • Members: For a complete list, see the list of Executive Committee members.
  • Mandate: To ensure the smooth, professional, and orderly running of the Local (see the Bylaws for a full description).

Communications Committee

  • Chair: Kelsey Allen, Vice President Internal & Ella Harvey, Vice President External
  • Mandate: To establish protocols for communicating with members on a regular basis and to coordinate membership on University and community committees and advocate for members (see the Bylaws for a full description).

Finance Committee

  • Chair: Edith Wilson, President
  • Mandate: To administer the Local’s funds and to perform, supervise, and adjudicate financial transactions on behalf of the Local including but not limited to benefits, insurance, and membership dues.

Grievance Committee

  • Chair: Syer Haque, Grievance Coordinator
  • Mandate: To review and file (where appropriate) individual and policy grievances and to make recommendations to the Executive Committee about cases to be put forward for arbitration (see the Bylaws for a full description).

Health & Safety Committee

  • Chair: Nabil Allataifeh, Health & Safety Officer
  • Mandate: To discuss the mandate, minutes, and agendas of the Central Joint Health & Safety Committee (CJHSC), to prepare for CJHSC meetings, and to discuss issues and concerns raised by members about the health and safety of their workplace.

Labour/Management Committee (External)

  • Chair: Edith Wilson, President
  • Mandate: To address issues that arise from the interpretation of the Collective Agreement between the Union and the Employer (see the Unit 1 and Unit 2 Collective Agreements for a full description).

Stewards Committee

  • Chair: Elie Chamoun, Unit 1 Steward; Ahmed Mahmood, Unit 2 Steward
  • Mandate: To organise and guide¬†College Stewards and Departmental Stewards and to maintain a network of stewards (see the Bylaws for a full description).


International Teaching Assistant Caucus

  • Chair: Alessia Ursella, ITA Caucus Chair

Members with Disabilities Caucus

  • Chair: Vacant, Members with Disabilities Caucus Chair

Queer Caucus

  • Chair: Vacant, Queer Caucus Chair

Women’s Caucus

  • Chair: Zoha Barzideh, Women’s Caucus Chair

Graduate Service Assistant-1 (GSA-1) Caucus

  • Chair: Vacant, GSA-1 Caucus Chair

Undergraduate Teaching Assistant (UTA) Caucus

  • Chair: Vacant, UTA Caucus Chair